A Valentine’s Post

February 14, 2011 at 9:58 pm 2 comments

This is late. I’ve spent too long at work and doing the mom thing today and I really wanted to spend time to write a really great post. You see, it’s my 25th anniversary today. I’ve been married to the same man for the last 25 years. I really hope we make it another 25.
Valentine’s Day is all about romance, the heart-pounding chocolate’n’flowers kind of romance. Hollywood romance where fireworks go off when you kiss. Or is it? True romance is more than kissing, more than expensive gifts, more than butterflies in your belly when you hold hands. True romance lasts through sleepless nights and cleaning up kid vomit four times in the middle of the night and changing diapers for nineteen straight years. True romance sees past the extra weight and wrinkles to the soul inside. True romance is part commitment, part stubbornness, part friendship, and yes, part butterflies-in-the-belly. True romance is in it for the long haul, not just until the fireworks are over.

Marriage is tough. It requires a lot of work and a lot of dedication. But it’s worth the struggle and the effort. It’s worth the tears and trials. I trust my husband implicitly. He’s my sweetheart and my best friend. He’s my support when no one else will listen or understand. He’s not perfect, but then, neither am I.

The most romantic thing he ever said to me? I have to set this one up.

Picture a chilly early spring evening. The kids are finally in bed, all five of them. I’m eight months pregnant and feeling huge. I’m dressed in my ratty old flannel granny gown. He looks at me as I’m brushing my teeth and says, “Do you know how beautiful you are?” My first response was to tell him to put his glasses back on, but I stifled it in time. He meant every word and it touched me more than a dozen roses or poetry or even ten pounds of chocolate. He makes me feel beautiful, even when the world tells me I’m not.

So, to my valentine today, may we spend another twenty-five years together. And may we find happiness in each one.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Thursday Recipe – Easy Lasagna and Traditional German Pork Chops Thursday Recipe – Island Chicken

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Victoria Dixon  |  February 14, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    That’s lovely! We had a similar moment and again, setup is required. I had a writer’s meeting where I knew there’d be food. The hubby had tons of leftovers, so I decided to make a bit of popcorn for myself and leave it at that. Then I promptly let the popcorn oil overheat and when I went to check, flames shot to the roof like a scene out of Backdraft! I smothered it quickly, but our newly painted wall was a melted mess, the house STANK of oil and smoke and I was now late. I called to confess and could tell he was upset with me, but could do nothing else without missing my meeting. When I got home, I opened the door on that smell and my heart sank. He’s lying on the sofa waiting for me, but instead of giving me the tongue-lashing I expected, he said, “We were made for each other.” It was SO romantic I almost cried. Then he showed me the flood damage he’d accidentally caused while I was gone and he’d tried to be productive and fix the toilet in the front bathroom! LOL We ARE made for each other. We may also be a natural disaster team.

    Reply
  • 2. Jaleta Clegg  |  February 14, 2011 at 11:30 pm

    How funny, Victoria. Thanks for sharing your story. I should write a lot more posts about the disasters in our marriage, most of them are funny now. It’s the laughing that keeps up young and together.

    Have a great Valentine’s Day with your sweetheart!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Jaleta Clegg

I write science fiction, fantasy, and comic horror. I also have a whole horde of children and a lot of opinions.

Past ramblings

twitterings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers


