Thoughts on Rejection

January 3, 2011 at 3:45 pm 2 comments

My first story rejection of 2011 arrived Saturday before noon via email. Yep, Jan. 1, first rejection of the year. Sounds like a horrible way to start the year, doesn’t it? But it didn’t bother me. When I first decided to start submitting my work to real publishers, the thought of all that rejection really bothered me. How would I deal with it? I’d done phone sales before, briefly, and know what true rejection is. But I swallowed my fear, stuck my courage to the sticking place, and sent my stories and novels into the publishing world.

Most authors say, “Expect to have 85-95% of your work rejected, if not more.” My rejection rate is about 15-20%. You’d expect even that much to sting, but it doesn’t. I’ve gotten everything from the form letter “We don’t want your story” to some very nice, detailed “This is why we don’t want it” letters. I expected them to hurt, but they don’t. I can shrug and move on to the next submission.

I love my stories, I have to, I’m the author. But I know not everyone else will love them. Most people won’t care about them. And it’s okay.

Maybe it’s a lesson I learned ten years ago when I was diagnosed with cancer, or eighteen years ago when I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia. Life sucks sometimes, but groaning and complaining won’t accomplish anything but driving away people. You choose your attitude. I look at story rejections as a learning experience. The ones that got rejected were ones that I was iffy about submitting to that market in the first place. Most of them I found another market that loved them. A few are still sitting in my “to be submitted” file. But it’s all good. I have stories published, stories I’m proud of. Rejections mean I’m not perfect and my writing still needs plenty of polish.

Choose your attitude wisely. It makes all the difference in your life.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Thursday Recipe – Ninja Turtle Soup and Roasted Garlic Thursday Recipe – Beef Stew

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ficfaq  |  January 3, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    Rejection is a part of the writing game. It is also a steep learning curve that makes you go back to your work to check out what went wrong. And your rejection rate is pretty low, which means you are doing a lot of things right!

    Reply
    • 2. Jaleta Clegg  |  January 3, 2011 at 8:47 pm

      Thanks! I really try to research the market and make sure the story I’m sending fits what they want. I also take the time to polish the story and make it the best I can. It’s part of the process to become a published author and part of the game to stay published.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Jaleta Clegg

I write science fiction, fantasy, and comic horror. I also have a whole horde of children and a lot of opinions.

Past ramblings

twitterings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers


