Good Things Happen

August 16, 2010 at 5:23 pm Leave a comment

It’s been a long weekend, but a wonderful one. My daughter got married Saturday. One down, seven more to go. My parents celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary Sunday. I finally checked my email late Sunday night to find more good news. I sold another story to an anthology and I was awarded this:

Thanks to Ruth E. Day for the award.

I’ll save the rest of the award stuff for later, I’m still recovering!

I’ve been thinking a lot about marriage lately, for obvious reasons. I’m closing in on my 25th anniversary next February. I’m more in love with my husband now than I was then. He’s my best friend. I can share anything with him. That doesn’t happen automatically. It requires effort and commitment, and a lot of patience.

So here’s my two bits of marriage advice.

1. Marriage requires more than love, it requires commitment. If you truly want a lasting marriage, you’re going to have to work at keeping it together. It’s worth it.

2. An old Irish blessing states, “Let there be spaces in your togetherness.” True love does not require that you spend every second of every day for the rest of eternity watching each other breathe. It does not require that you both love the same things. Give your spouse space to be an individual as well as your partner. Let the wind blow between you occasionally. True love fosters trust and integrity. Those times apart can help renew your relationship.

I have to talk about writing in here somewhere, I am an author, too. I quit reading romances for two reasons. They end before the relationship really gets interesting and more and more, they are anti-marriage. I believe deeply in the institution of marriage. It is a good thing. I also enjoy a good romance. My series has a romance as a major subplot. It’s not just about falling in love, it’s about building a relationship that can withstand trouble. It’s about trust and family and friendship.

Okay. Enough of being Dear Abby. I’ll think of something silly for next week’s post. Humor is a necessary part of life.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Thursday Recipe – Tropical Southwest Chicken Thursday Recipe – Cauliflower with Mayotard

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Jaleta Clegg

I write science fiction, fantasy, and comic horror. I also have a whole horde of children and a lot of opinions.

Past ramblings

twitterings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers


